Spacecamp Releases Debut EP, Alibi | FREE DOWNLOAD!

Spacecamp ALIBIDid it slip your mind that back on November 22nd, Brooklyn-based four piece, Spacecamp, released its debut EP, Alibi, via Modern Records. Alibi’s five songs provide listeners with a psyched-out, get-your-feet-moving EP that at times rocks hard and fast, and at other times turns up the pop and funk.

“We recorded the Alibi EP amidst rain and cold weather,” says bassist, Steven Mertens. “Huddled in a basement at Saltlands studio in Dumbo, Brooklyn, we recorded the basic tracks in two days while sipping green tea and wondering where the couch was.”

Jon Wiley (guitar/vox), Steven Mertens (bass), and Chris Egan (drums) met when they toured with Adam Green as his touring band on the 2008 summer tour. Later that year while in Berlin, the guys met Dev Hynes (better known as Lightspeed Champion or Blood Orange) where he asked the band to record nearly all of the music for Hynes’ second album, Life is Sweet! Nice to Meet You. In 2009, Spacecamp and Hynes recorded the album at Brooklyn’s Mission Sound with producer Ben Allen. It was during this recording session that Spacecamp snuck in some recording of their own, tracking “Miko D.T.B.” and “Teen Idol,” both of which appear on Alibi. In late 2010, Spacecamp invited guitarist James Pollis to join the band and with the lineup rounded out, the band spent the rest of 2010 and the beginning of 2011 playing shows and writing their first full-length album that is scheduled for release in Fall 2012.